Posted in Personal

Tuesday, 01 September 2020

Phrasal verbs again ~~

*********************************************************************

(1) Cheer (Sb) Up

Definition: If someone cheers up, or something cheers someone up, they start to feel happier.

My Sentence: I am in bad mood today, so I have had a big piece of delicious cheesecake to cheer myself up.

(2) Come Up With (Sth)

Definition: To suggest or think of an idea or plan.

My Sentence: After a long discussion, he finally came up with a workable plan.

(3) Drop (Sb / Sth) Off

Definition: To take someone or something to a particular place, usually by car, as you travel to a different place.

My Sentence: Is he crazy? He insisted to drop his wife off at the middle of the crossroads!

(4) Fall Apart

Definition: To break into pieces

My Sentence: The little child is crying, because his favorite toy has been fallen apart.

(5) Get Around To (Sth)

Definition: To do something that you have intended to do for a long time

My Sentence: I promise I will get around to cleaning my house by next Wednesday.

************************************************************************

Some of the above phrasal verbs are new to me, and it took me quite a time to understand their meaning and usage, but I think it is worth it.

P.S. – All above definitions are from Cambridge Dictionary.

Leave a comment