Posted in 30 Days Challenge

30 Days Writing Challenge #5

5 Phrases of today –

Catch on / go after (sth) / consummate / perplex / get hooked on (sth)


The city I lived in was close to the sea, so diversified water sports were one of our attractions to tourists.

I wanted to try water sports for many years, but none of my friends was interested in it. Without company, I was quite hesitant to take any action. Until one day, I saw a poster.

The poster was actually a photo which showed a beautiful sea view, and few bows of kayaks. It seemed the photo was taking by someone sitting inside a kayak. At the bottom part of the poster, there was a caption –

“No company? Never mind! Our coaches will accompany you!”

This caption really caught my attention, as it completely spoke my mind. Looking at the poster, I took out my phone and made a call…

Then, on the next Sunday morning, I appeared at the beach.

I was not the only student of this kayak class. There were 2 other girls, and both of them were coming alone, just like me.

Our coach, named Sunny, was a tall and tanned man. He always had a big smile on his face, and he was enthusiastic about kayaking.

After teaching us some basic technique, Sunny asked us to get on the kayaks. This was the first time I got on a kayak, I felt excited, but I also felt perplexed, because I was not sure if I caught on to what Sunny taught us.

I started to paddle my kayak. After few strokes, the kayak started to move. Although the kayak sailed slowly, I felt amazing, but my arms were tired very soon, as I tried best to keep every of my move up to standard.

“Relax,” said Sunny, rowing his kayak alongside with me, “you don’t need to be consummate, unless you are going to compete in Olympics,” he continued speaking with a big smile, “just relax and enjoy, and you will find yourself doing good, naturally.”

To soothe my nervousness, Sunny guided me to do some relaxing exercises. After that, I felt far better and started enjoying the journey.

After an hour of practice, all of us were getting used to the basic kayaking techniques. To make the day more fun, Sunny invited us to play a game.

Sunny was staying 20 meters away from us, holding a ball. What we needed to do was going after it, and who got the ball the fastest would be the winner. The game was super fun and exciting, and we were all crazy about it.

That day was really a great day to me, and I was so glad that I did join this class.

After that day, I am totally hooked on kayaking, and I am not alone in this activity anymore, as I have 2 crazy friends with me now.