Posted in 30 Days Challenge

30 Days Writing Challenge #15

5 Phrases of today –

Off the chain / hock / be all ears / be (caught) between a rock and a hard place / Bite off more than you can chew


I was in a jewelry shop when I saw Carol standing in front of the shop.

Carol noticed me very soon, and gave me a awkward smile. I knew something was wrong as I never saw her being embarrassed like this.

“Are you okay, Carol?” I walked to her and asked.

“I… I… I…” Carol bit back.

I’m all ears. Tell me what’s happening.” I put my arm around her shoulder.

“You know what? My wedding ring is very, very beautiful, just off the chain.” Carol bit her lip a little and said, “I was wondering how could Gordon afford such expensive thing, but Gordon always said he could deal with it, and today, I’ve got a letter from a financial company. It said that Gordon has borrowed $100,000 from them and has skipped 2 repayment already.”

“Oh no, he has bitten off more than he can chew.” I sighed.

“You can say that again,” Carol said, “I like this ring very much, not because of its value, but the meaning behind. It is my wedding ring, symbolizing our marriage, but I know that hocking this ring is the only way to pay off the huge debt. You know, I am totally caught between a rock and a hard place.” Carol was welling up.

“I’ll be behind you no matter what’s your decision.” I slapped her on the back.

Nodding her head, Carol could not hold her tears anymore. I haven’t stopped her, because she definitely needed to vent.

“It’s hard, but I have to do that.” Carol wiped off her tears, and walked into the jewelry shop.