Posted in 30 Days Challenge

30 Days Writing Challenge #6

5 Phrases of today –

Find out / border on / Bob’s your uncle / hit (sth) out of the park / work (sth) off


After taking a deep breath, Shirley opened the envelope and took out the essay result with shaking hands.

The grading showing on the result sheet was “A”, which was a dream mark to every student, but Shirley didn’t feel happy at all.

Instead, she was struggling. To work off the bad mood, Shirley went to the gym. However, it seemed useless, because she still felt depressed even she has worked out for 2 hours.

Shirley knew that she was done with the gym, so she left the gym and went for a walk.

She didn’t know where to go, and just walked along the road, and she ended up in the main teaching building.

She looked up the building, and she knew the only way to solve this issue would be going up, to the professor’s office.

“Come in,” said the professor, “hey, Shirley, how’s it going?”

“I would like to talk about my essay… ” I said, with a whispering voice.

“You’ve got an A already, still have problem?” The professor wondered.

“In fact,” I paused, took a deep breath, then continued, “my essay topic and part of the content were copied from the other, although I was not copying it word by word, and I did add my own content, but, I knew it bordered on plagiarism…”

“I knew,” said the professor, “You copied Jenny, right?”

“If you already found that out, why…” I mumbled.

“Yes, your topic and part of the resources were from her, but you have elaborated them way more better, also, the best part of the whole essay was actually originated from you. I gave you an A, because you really hit it out of the park!” The professor talked to me with a warm smile.

“Next time, the professor continued to say, “if you have any difficulties on topic selection and information collection, come and knock my door, then, Bob’s your uncle, you’ll get my help!”

“Thank you, thank you so much!” I felt way better now.