Posted in 30 Days Challenge

30 Days Writing Challenge #28

5 Phrases of today –

Get together / sleep in / bonehead / spooky / a slap in the face


Debby and I finally got together for a drink yesterday night. Debby is working on a big project, which makes her pretty stressful.

“The project makes me feel super tense. You may know that I usually sleep in on Saturdays morning.” Debby said, looking at me.

“Last Saturday, I woke up at 8 am and I immediately got into a panic that I would be late for work, so I got up quickly and went brushing my teeth and got dressed, and right before I left my house, I realized that that day was a Saturday and I needed not to work!” Debby told the whole story in one breath.

“At that moment, I really didn’t know how to react, I just stood there, like a bonehead, and I felt spooky. I just thought how stressful I am to act like this.” Debby finished her story, sat back and inhaled deeply.

“I understood.” I said, “it’s sad, but it also can be a good reminder to you to look into your current life. Are you biting off more than you can chew?”

“Yes, you’re right,” Debby responded. “It was definitely a slap in the face for me. Luckily, the project will be completed soon, and I’ve already decided to take a few days leave after finishing the project, to recharge myself.”

“Good idea! Everyone should take good care of themselves, and you should do the same too!” I was glad to see that Debby finally 曾